New members to the Holberg Board

Publisert 24.08.2016
The Holberg Prize is pleased to announce that Britt Andersen and Knut Olav Åmås have been appointed as new members to the Board of the Holberg Prize.

The University of Bergen appoints the executive board of the Holberg Prize. The Board consists of the chair and four board members nominated by the universities in Norway and the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters. Britt Andersen og Knut Olav Åmås was appointed as new board members at the University Board meeting on 24 April, and formally assumed their duties on the 1 July.

Britt Andersen is vice-dean for research at the Faculty of Humanities and a Professor in Comparative Literature at the Norwegian University of Science and Technology. As a researcher she has focused primarilly on modernism, feminism, psychoanalysis and queer theory. Andersen is also Editor in Chief of the literary journal Norsk Litteraturvitenskaplig Tidsskrift.

Knut Olav Åmås is the Executive Director of the Fritt Ord Foundation. Åmås is also an author, former state secretary at the Norwegian Ministry of Cultural Affairs and former editor for Culture, Debate and Research at the national daily newspaper Aftenposten.                        

Åmås and Andersen replaces former board members, Petter Aaslestad and Kjellbjørg Lunde. Chair of the board, Sigmund Grønmo (UiB), Trude Haugli (UiT) and Øyvind Andersen (DNVA) continue in their engagements.