Shortlist ready for the Holberg Prize 2016

Publisert 06.11.2015
The shortlist for the Holberg Prize 2016 is now ready and the process to find next year’s laureate is one step closer to the announcement 11 March 2016.

The decision on who was going to be included on the shortlist was made at a Holberg Committee meeting in Vienna, Friday 6 November

Record number of German nominations submitted in one year

A total of 76 nominations were submitted as candidates for the 485 000Euro / 519 000USD prize. This is the third highest number of candidates since the beginning in 2004. Geographically, most nominations and candidates came from the United States. There were nine German candidates. This is the highest number of German nominations submitted in one year.

Nominasjonstidslinje C_bruk.jpg

Shortlist ready - now what?

Pratap Bhanu Mehta, the new Chair of the Holberg committee, has been leading the committee’s first stages of the work to find the next Holberg laureate. This was also the first meeting for new committee members Graeme Turner and Mary Beard.

The Holberg committee will meet again 12 February at the Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin, Germany. At this meeting the Holberg committee reach their recommendation to the Holberg Prize 2016 which is then handed to the Holberg Board.

The winner of the Holberg Prize will be announced by the Holberg Board 08.30 (GMT+1), 11 March 2016, in Bergen and at

Read The Times Higher Educations report on the Holberg Prize meeting in London in february 2015.

Nomination for the Holberg Prize 2017 opens 11 November 2015.

About the Holberg Committee

The Holberg Committee consists of internationally renowned scholars within the disciplines of the prize and is responsible for the scholarly assessment of the nominations. The Committee presents their recommendation to the Holberg Board, who appoints the award winner. Read more.

Holberg Prize laureates