Holberg Prize News

Livestream: Announcement of the Holberg Prize and Nils Klim Prize 2019

On Thursday 14 March you can watch the announcement of the Holberg Prize and Nils Klim Prize 2019 live from Media City Bergen. The streaming starts at 9:00 CET.

Committee Meeting and Mary Beard Lecture in Rome

On 8 February, the Holberg Committee met in Rome, and Committee member Mary Beard delivered a lecture at the Royal Norwegian Embassy.

Professor Achille Mbembe's Address at the 2018 Holberg Debate

The Holberg Prize is delighted to be able to publish the written version of Prof. Achille Mbembe's address, given at the Holberg Debate on 1 December, 2018, in Bergen, Norway.

Activism and Affects Explored During Holberg Debate

Legendary researchers and activists joined the panel for the 1 December Holberg Debate.

The Holberg Conversation with Cass Sunstein

During the Holberg week of June 2018, Holberg Prize Laureate Cass Sunstein met with Anine Kierulf to talk about his research, backround and and how he has worked to promote enduring constitutional ideals –freedom, dignity, equality, self-government, the rule of law – under contemporary circumstances.

The Holberg Committee in Amsterdam

The Holberg Committee recently met in Amsterdam to decide on a shortlist for the 2019 Holberg Prize.

Cui Zhiyuan joins the Holberg Committee

As of June this year, Professor Cui Zhiyuan from Tsinghua University is appointed a new member of the Holberg Committee.

LIVESTREAM: The Holberg Debate 2018: "Politics and Affects: The Dynamics of Social Mobilization"

Fifty years after the Year of Revolt, how important are affects in influencing the behaviour of voters, activists and policy makers? Achile Mbembe, Kathleen Cleaver and George Galloway meet in Bergen to discuss this question on 1 December.

Cass Sunstein's Acceptance Speech

The following is a transcript from the acceptance speech held by Holberg Laureate Cass Sunstein, at the Award Ceremony in the University Aula, on June 6, 2018

The Holberg Prize and the Nils Klim Prize 2018 conferred

Today, the Holberg Prize was conferred upon Harvard Law Professor Cass Sunstein by HRH Crown Prince Haakon of Norway.