Holberg Prize News

"Everyone dreams at night": Interview with Stephen Greenblatt

What are the paths and life events that have led 2016 Holberg Laureate Professor Stephen Greenblatt to where he is today? Where will he go from here? How will the humanities survive the current crisis? Those are some of the questions Greenblatt answers in this exclusive interview.

Graduate opportunity: Masterclass with Stephen Greenblatt

The Holberg Prize is now offering scholarships to five Nordic PhD students for the 2016 Masterclass with Stephen Greenblatt on Origin Stories. The event takes place June 6th, in Bergen.

Holberg Prize and Nils Klim Prize Laureates 2016 Announced

The Holberg Prize Laureate 2016 is American Literature Professor and Shakespeare Scholar Stephen Greenblatt. Nils Klim Prize Laureate 2016 is Swedish law-scholar Sanja Bogojević.

Who will be the Recipient of the Holberg Prize 2016?

On 11 February, the Holberg Committee convened in Berlin and put forward their recommendation for this year’s recipient of the Holberg Prize.

The Holberg Prize in Berlin – "The Power of Exempla"

On 11 February, an event was held at the Royal Norwegian Embassy in Berlin, with a lecture on the topic: “The Power of Exempla.” The event was held in connection with the meeting of the Holberg Committee on the following day, during which the Committee put forward its recommendation for this year’s Holberg Prize recipient.

Nomination open for the 2017 Holberg Prize

The Holberg Board opens the nomination period for the 2017 Holberg Prize today, 10 November 2015.

Shortlist ready for the Holberg Prize 2016

The shortlist for the Holberg Prize 2016 is now ready and the process to find next year’s laureate is one step closer to the announcement 11 March 2016.

Helga Nowotny made Honorary Doctor at University of Bergen

Former Holberg Committee member Helga Nowotny was made Honorary Doctor at the University of Bergen in a ceremony Friday October 2nd.

New Academic Director of the Holberg Prize

Ellen Mortensen has been appointed academic director of the Holberg Prize as of August 1st. She follows Ivar Bleiklie, who has been director for the last five years.

The Holberg Prize awarded to Marina Warner

The Holberg Prize was today officially awarded to British author, scholar and critic Marina Warner by H.R.H. the Crown Prince of Norway.