Holberg Prize News

The Holberg Prize 2014 is awarded to scholar of Islamic history

The british historian Michael Cook is awarded ‘the Nobel Prize of the arts, humanities and social sciences’. Terje Lohndal is the youngest recipient ever to be awarded the Nils Klim Prize.

The Holberg Anniversary Lectures 2014

The Holberg Lectures presents a general audience in Norway with a unique opportunity to listen to world-leading academics, all previous winners of the Holberg Prize.

Bruno Latour wins the 2013 Holberg Prize

The Board of the Ludvig Holberg Memorial Fund has decided to award the 2013 Holberg International Memorial Prize to anthropologist and sociologist Bruno Latour. The Prize amount is NOK 4.5 million (EUR 610,000/USD 790,000).

Jürgen Kocka awarded Holberg Prize 2011

H. R. H. Crown Prince Haakon presented Holberg International Memorial Prize to Professor Jürgen Kocka, and Minister of Research and Higher Education, Tora Aasland, presented the Nils Klim Prize to Dr. Jørn Jakobsen.

Interview with Jürgen Kocka

The Holberg Prize of 2011 was awarded to Professor of History, Jürgen Kocka, for his work on modern German and European history. In this interview he speaks about his background, research interests, thoughts about the status of the social sciences and humanities today.

Shmuel Noah Eisenstadt (1923-2010)

Holberg International Memorial Prize laureate 2006 Shmuel Noah Eisenstadt passed away September 2nd 2010.

Announcement of the Holberg Prize and Nils Klim Prize 2015

The Holberg Prize names British storyteller and fairytale critic Marina Warner as 2015 laureate. Danish EU scholar Rebecca Adler­-Nissen receives the Nils Klim Prize.