

22 January, 2021

## The Nils Klim Committee Citation: Daria Gritsenko

The Nils Klim Committee has decided to recommend that Daria Gritsenko be the recipient of the 2021 Nils Klim Prize.

Daria Gritsenko is Assistant Professor of Russian and Eurasian Studies at the University of Helsinki, where she is affiliated with the Aleksanteri Institute and the Helsinki Institute of Sustainability Science (HELSUS). She is an exceptionally accomplished young scholar who has carried out innovative and cross-disciplinary research in the intersection between political science, environmental studies and digital humanities.

With her versatile background, having obtained academic degrees in Russia, Germany and Finland, she has already built an outstanding international profile as a researcher. Furthermore, she has received numerous fellowships for research stays in the U.S., Japan, the UK, Norway and Spain. Throughout her career, she has specialised in Arctic studies, maritime transportation, energy and sustainability. All of her research is highly relevant in regard to current global issues of political governance and environmental concerns. In her recent research, she has been increasingly engaged with Big Data in examining renewable energy and other aspects of governance in Russia. Her ambitious and creative approach to these issues attests to her courage as a researcher, combining digitalization and social and environmental analysis of potentially volatile political questions.

Gritsenko has published an impressive number of articles in prestigious international journals and has been a dynamic force in establishing an environment in Helsinki that operates at the forefront of her research areas. From within her Nordic context, she has been active in creating important links in matters of technology, culture, and sustainability across borders within the Eurasian space.

Daria Gritsenko's bold and resourceful approach as well as her impressive range of research areas and methodological competence make her a most worthy recipient of the 2021 Nils Klim Prize.

On behalf of the Nils Klim Committee,

Ástráður Eysteinsson, Chair