The Holberg Prize

2019 Holberg Laureate Paul Gilroy. Photo credit: Eivind Senneset

The Holberg Prize is awarded annually to scholars who have made outstanding contributions to research in the humanities, social sciences, law or theology.

The deadline for nominating a candidate to the Holberg Prize is 15 June each year. The Laureate is announced in March and the award ceremony is held in the second week of June, in Bergen, Norway.