Press Room

Press room for the Holberg Prize, the Nils Klim Prize and the Holberg Prize School Project. Here you will find the latest press releases, photos and biographies for the laureates.



Ole Sandmo
Communications adviser for Holbergprisen
Tel: +47 980 01 878



Martha C. Nussbaum (b. 1947) is the Ernst Freund Distinguished Service Professor of Law and Ethics, at the University of Chicago, appointed in the Law School and Philosophy Department. Her research interests include ancient Greek and Roman philosophy, political philosophy, philosophy of literature, feminism, music, and ethics, as well as animal rights. 

Nussbaum received her PhD from Harvard in 1975 (Classical Philology). She has taught at Harvard University, Brown University, and Oxford University.  

To date, Nussbaum has written 26 books, with one shortly forthcoming and three in progress. In addition, she has published about 500 articles and edited 26 books. Her books have been translated into two dozen languages. Nussbaum’s numerous awards include the Berggruen Prize in Philosophy and Culture (2018), the Kyoto Prize in Arts and Philosophy (2016).  

Nussbaum has received honorary degrees from over 60 colleges and universities in the US, Canada, Latin America, Asia, Africa, and Europe. She is an Academician in the Academy of Finland, a Fellow of the British Academy, and a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. She is also a member of the American Philosophical Society, where she was President of the Central Division from 1999 to 2000.


Personal page at the University of Chicago
The Holberg Comittee Citation


  • Portrait of Martha Nussbaum (Photo: Robert Tolchin)

  • Portrait of Martha Nussbaum (Photo: Robert Tolchin)

  • Portrait of Martha Nussbaum (Photo: Sally Ryan)

  • Portrait of Martha Nussbaum (Photo: Jeff Brown)

  • Portrait of Martha Nussbaum (Photo: University of Chicago Law School)

  • Portrait of Martha Nussbaum (Photo: Robin Holland)



Daria Gritsenko (b.1986) is Assistant Professor in Russian and Eurasian Studies at the University of Helsinki, Finland. She holds a PhD in Social Sciences (2014) and a title of Docent in Environmental Policy (2018), both from the University of Helsinki. Gritsenko worked as a visiting researcher in Tromsø (Norway), Sapporo (Japan), Exeter (UK), and Las Palmas (Spain). In 2018-19, she was a Fellow of the prestigious Fulbright Arctic Initiative and a Visiting Scholar at the George Washington University (DC, USA), investigating pathways of renewable energy development in the Russian Arctic.

Gritsenko's research is in the field of public policy and governance, with a particular focus on the dynamics between the state and non-state actors in response to the changing natural and technological environments. Her work appeared in renowned academic journals, including Energy Policy, Energy Research and Social Science, Elementa, Policy Studies Journal, and Regulation and Governance. 

In 2017, Gritsenko co-founded Digital Russia Studies, a scholarly network exploring new ways for combining data science and social sciences in area studies. This initiative resulted in publication of multidisciplinary Palgrave Handbook of Digital Russia Studies (2021), a volume that reflects how the 'digital' is simultaneously changing Russia and the research methods scholars use to study Russia and offers practical methodological guidance.

Gritsenko and her family spend winters in Helsinki and summers on a small energy independent island in the Baltic archipelago. 


Personal page at the University of Helsinki
The Nils Klim Committee Citation


  • Portrait of Daria Gritsenko. Photo: Veikko Somerpuro
  • "Portrait of Daria Gritsenko. Photo: Veikko Somerpuro"
    Portrait of Daria Gritsenko. Photo: Veikko Somerpuro
  • "Daria Gritsenko. Photo: Veikko Somerpuro
    Portrait of Daria Gritsenko. Photo: Veikko Somerpuro

  • Daria Gritsenko (Photo: Veikko Somerpuro)


Professor Håvard Haarstad
University of Bergen
Tlf +47 55 58 45 81 / +47 934 47 727


Logo files and other graphics for the Holberg Prize, Nils Klim Prize and Holberg Prize School Project can be downloaded from the online brand guide.



    The Holberg Prize is an international research prize, awarded annually to a scholar who has made outstanding research contributions to the arts and humanities, social sciences, law or theology. The Holberg Board awards the prize at the recommendation of the Holberg Committee. The Prize was established by the Norwegian Parliament in 2003 and is administered by the University of Bergen on behalf of the Ministry of Education and Research. It has a money value of NOK 6,000,000 (Approximately EUR 585,000 / USD 700,000 per 1 March 2021). The Holberg Prize is named after the scholar and author Ludvig Holberg, who played an important role in bringing the Age of Enlightenment to the Nordic countries.


    The Nils Klim Prize is awarded annually to a scholar from a Nordic country under the age of 35 for outstanding scholarly work in the arts and humanities, social sciences, law or theology. The Nils Klim Prize is awarded to a young Nordic scholar who has made an outstanding research contribution within one of these academic fields or through interdisciplinary work. The scholar’s ability to be original and innovative is highly emphasised. The Prize has a value of NOK 500,000 (approx. EUR 55,000). It is awarded by the Holberg Board at the recommendation of the Nils Klim Committee. The Prize is named after the hero in Ludvig Holberg’s novel Nils Klim’s journey to the underworld from 1741.