Holberg Prize News

The shortlist for the 2021 Holberg Prize is ready

The Holberg Committee met on Friday 16 October to discuss the nominations for the 2021 Holberg Prize and has now agreed on a shortlist. Due to the ongoing corona pandemic, this year's nomination meeting took place digitally.

2020 Holberg Prize and Nils Klim Prize Laureates Announced

The 2020 Holberg Prize is awarded to British-Canadian scholar Griselda Pollock for her contributions to feminist art history and cultural studies. The Nils Klim Prize is awarded to Danish theologian Frederik Poulsen for his research on The Old Testament.

The 2020 Laureates Have Been Selected

The Holberg Board met in Bergen on 4 February for their annual winter meeting. Here they made the final decision on who will be named the 2020 Holberg Prize and Nils Klim Prize laureates. The names will be announced on 5 March.

Watch the 2019 Holberg Debate with Slavoj Žižek and Tyler Cowen

Slavoj Žižek has been called the «the most dangerous philosopher in the West» and a cultural theorist superstar, as he mixes Marxism with pop culture and psychoanalysis. Three decades after the fall of «Communism» in Eastern Europe, why does Žižek still call himself a communist?