The Nils Klim Committee

The Nils Klim Committee consists of Nordic scholars from the academic fields covered by the Prize. The Holberg Board apoints the Nils Klim Laureate based on the Committee's recommendation.

  • Portrett Astradur Eysteinsson Ástráður Eysteinsson
    Professor of Comparative Literature, University of Iceland (Acting chair of committee)
  •  portrait Auli Vähäkangas Auli Vähäkangas
    Professor of Pastoral Theology and Vice Dean of the Faculty of Theology, University of Helsinki
  •  portrait Xavier GroussotXavier Groussot
    Professor of EU Law and Pro Dean at the Faculty of Law, Lund University
  • Grethe Brochman portraitGrete Brochmann
    Professor at the Department of Sociology and Human Development, University of Oslo
  • Dorthe Staunæs Portrait Dorthe Staunæs
    Professor of Social Psychology, Danish School of Education, Emdrup, Aarhus University


The Nils Klim Committee is responsible for assessing the nominations and presenting a recommendation for the Holberg Board. They begin their work as soon as the nomination list is ready in late August and meet in January/ February to make their final decision on a recommendation. It is the Holberg Board who appoints the Nils Klim Laureate. This usually happens at a board meeting shortly after the committee has handed over their recommendation in late February.

The acting committee chair for 2020/21 is Ástráður Eysteinsson.

Appointment of committee members

The Holberg board appoints new members to the committee. Members are elected for a term of three years, with possibility for reelection once. In addition to scholarly achievements, variation in geography and scholarly fields are also criterias which committe members are chosen from. As a rule, all five Nordic countries are represented amongst the committee members.